Skip to content

Fuzzy Navel Chicken with Grilled Peaches

July 6, 2012

This is the time of year when the farmers put out signs next to their peaches that say “eat over the sink…super juicy!”  When I brought home my basket of peaches from the farmer’s market, I knew I wanted to highlight their sweet yumminess.  When I was in college, my favorite cocktail was a fuzzy navel: orange juice, peach schnapps and vodka…so, I used it for a marinade on the chicken!  All of the food magazines right now have been featuring grilled peaches so I figured I’d give those a try.

My camera was dead, so the pictures are from my phone, hence the lack of color.

Ingredients
2 chicken breasts
1 cup orange juice
1/2 cup peach schnapps
1 shot vodka
3 fresh peaches
Scallions for garnish (also delicious this time of year!)

Cut the peach into pieces and squeeze them over a bowl.  Combine with OJ, schnapps, and vodka.  Marinade the chicken breast for at least one hour.

Meanwhile, slice the peaches (they’re not so easy to slice!)  Pop them onto the grill so they get grill marks.

Remove the chicken from the marinade and grill for about 4 minutes on each side.

Pour the rest of the marinade into a sauce pan and cook over medium heat to thicken into a sauce.

To serve, sprinkle chopped scallions over peaches.  Spoon sauce over chicken.  Sprinkle with salt and pepper.  This could also totally be sliced up and put on top of some spinach or arugala.  You could use the sauce as a dressing for the salad.

You can eat this hot or at room temperature!

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 20, 2014 5:03 pm

    Oh wow! Love the sound of this chicken recipe! I’ll have to try it!

Leave a comment