Skip to content

Stuffed Squash Blossoms

July 2, 2012

My posts have been few and far between over the past year.  My new job was exciting and fun, but also kept me so busy that we often lived off of Shabbat leftovers for weeks at a time.  I stuck with recipes I knew to be quick and easy, and totally lacked creative energy for cooking.  I did write two posts since the last time I wrote for Mah Zeh Taim.  You can check out my Chicken with Apple Salsa and my Mediterranean Tartlet on the NosherMyJewishLearning.com‘s food blog.

     

But now, summer is upon us!  I have some spare creative energy, not to mention enough time to use it for cooking!  If you’ve followed my older posts, I really lived off of the 97th street Farmer’s Market when we lived in Manhattan, especially in the summer.  All of my cooking ideas came from whatever fresh ingredients I found that week.  Last week I discovered the New Rochelle Farmer’s Market, and I’m inspired again!  Yay!

Friday I came home with squash blossoms, bell peppers, garlic scapes and more.  I also had some lovely pesto in my fridge from last week’s basil purchase.  I knew I wanted to make stuffed squash blossoms, but I had only eaten them stuffed with ricotta, so I tried a new solution to make them pareve, but still creamy!

Ingredients
24 squash blossoms
1 garlic scape, finely diced
1 small orange pepper, finely diced
1 small red bell pepper, finely diced
3 tablespoons prepared pesto (homemade is best!)
1/4 cup whole wheat flour
3 tablespoons
3/4 cup soy milk
Salt & Pepper to taste
Olive Oil for frying 

Squash blossoms take some special attention to clean for dirt and bugs.  Hold them under the faucet to make sure you clean inside and outside.

Image

Combine the peppers and scapes and blot with a paper towel to take out some of the excess moisture.

In a small sauce pot, heat up 3 tablespoons of oil.  Then add the flour to make a roux.  Then add the soy milk and mix well.  Watch it closely and continuously stir so it won’t burn.  Then add salt and pepper.  Remove from heat and let cool a bit.  Then add to the vegetable mixture.  Mix in 3 tablespoons of pesto.

Now comes the messy part.  I did not get this down to a science…I tried with a pastry bag and with my fingers, neither one was better than the other.  Open each blossom and stuff the pesto vegetable mixture into the opening of the flower.  Twist the petals at the top and set aside.  Repeat process until all blossoms have been stuffed.

Image

In a large pot, pour 1/2 inch of olive oil and bring to a high heat.  Fry each blossom for 3-4 minutes on each side until golden.

Image

Let drain on paper towels.

They’re a yummy, super seasonal treat.  Ingredients are very healthy, cooking method is not so healthy.  I didn’t batter them, so that cuts out some calories, right?

Enjoy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

