Skip to content

Pareve Nutty Butterscotch Cookies

April 29, 2011

I think what I’ll miss most about JTS  after my graduation in a few weeks is the cookies.  Everyone knows them.  They are always perfectly crispy on the outside and chewy on the inside.  (Really they’re frozen cookie dough, but seriously, how are they always SO perfect???)  I think every JTS student has their favorite flavor.  For me, it’s hands down the butterscotch pecan cookies.  My mouth waters just thinking about them!  So imagine my excitement when I found pareve butterscotch chips!  I played with my chocolate chip cookie recipe (a la Levana Kirshchenbaum) and I think I replicated this amazing cookie!  The cookie recipe is also great with chocolate or white chocolate chips and, because it uses oil instead of margarine, you don’t have to worry about defrosting a stick!

Ingredients (makes 3-4 dozen cookies)
2 eggs
3/4 cup sugar
3/4 cup brown sugar
3/4 cup + 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
1 tablespoon vanilla
2 1/2 cups flour
3/4 teaspoon baking powder
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/8 teaspoon cinnamon
1/8 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup butterscotch chips (pareve or dairy)
3/4 cup finely chopped walnuts or pecans

First thing’s first…combine the eggs, sugars, oil and vanilla so that it is totally smooth, no sugar clumps.  In a separate bowl (or in a measuring cup) mix the flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon and salt.

Slowely add the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients.  I prefer to do this by hand instead of with a mixer for two reasons. First, it makes less of a mess.  Second, you can stop when the ingredients are just combined and avoid over mixing.  Once the dough has come together, fold in the chips and nuts.

At this point you have options.  You can make all of the cookies now, refrigerate the dough for up to 24 hours and make the cookies later, or make some of the cookies and freeze the rest of the dough.  If you’re leaving it in the fridge or the freezer, make sure it’s wrapped really well so it doesn’t dry out.  I like to freeze dough in a log so it’s quick to divide when I defrost it.

Roll out the cookie dough into 1 inch balls (I used my hand dandy cookie scoop).  Try to make them the same size so they’ll bake evenly.

Bake them at 375 degrees for 5 minutes than rotate and bake for another 4 minutes.  The secret to crispy chewy cookies?  Three things: (1) Parchment paper…not tin foil, not a non stick pan, parchment paper on your cookie sheet, (2) take them out before they look done but when there is a film over the top of “doneness” and (3) get them off the cookie sheet and onto a cooling rack as fast as possible!

I’m so excited that even though I won’t have JTS cookies at my fingertips, I’ve replicated the recipe in pareve version…yahoo!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Lynn Abrams permalink
    April 29, 2011 7:04 pm

    They look delicious! Not to mention the fabulous hand painted cookie plate!

  2. alix permalink
    May 10, 2011 12:47 pm

    can you **please*** tell me where you bought your Pareve butterscotch chips in NY and where I can find some too? Thanks so much!

    • May 10, 2011 12:48 pm

      I got mine at the 99th & Amsterdam Associated, but I’m pretty sure Supersol also has. They come in a plastic container, not a bag.

      • alix permalink
        May 10, 2011 5:51 pm

        Thank you!!
        Do you remember what brand they are over at the Associated market on 99th street so I know what to look for…?
        And did you think they are as tasty as the dairy version by Nestle……?

        And in regards to Supersol…I went over there before Passover and they only had pareve White, Cinnamon, and Coffee chips. The pareve White Chips, which I bought, are gross. 😦 If you have a NY recommendation where to get better tasting pareve white chocolate chips I’m all ears too!

        Thanks so much!!

      • May 10, 2011 8:27 pm

        I use Oppenheimer brand white chocolate chips and Lieber brand butterscotch chips. Nothing’s as good as the real thing, but these are pretty good.

Leave a Reply

