Skip to content

Bourbon Glazed Salmon & Pareve Twice Baked Potatoes

April 10, 2011

Lately a lot of people have been asking me where I get the ideas for my recipes.  Sometimes I get my ideas from looking at other recipes and branching out from there.  More often, I find an ingredient that I want to use.  This time, that ingredient was the little bottle of bourbon that has been sitting on my shelf since the bridal shower of my friend.  (We made a Southern Belle themed shower for her, so the favors were little bourbon bottles and peach tea.)  When I saw that salmon was on sale in the grocery store, I was ready to experiment!

I love marinades.  They’re like the magical flavor trick.  Mix, let it sit, and the meat/chicken/fish/tofu will have the most amazing flavor.  This marinade could totally work on any of those proteins!

Bourbon Marinade Ingredients (for one pound of salmon)
4 tablespoons bourbon
1/4 cup brown sugar
3 tablespoons grated red onion (grate over the bowl so the juices go in too!)
2 tablespoons soy sauce
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 tablespoon grated ginger
1 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1/2 teaspoon black pepper

Combine all of the marinade ingredients and place salmon in a pan with the marinade.  Make sure it’s fully coated.  Refrigerate for 1-5 hours.  (Don’t do it too long or the salmon will start breaking down.  If you’re doing meat, it can marinate overnight.)

Heat up a frying pan with a bit of olive oil.  Brown up the salmon (without the leftover marinade) for about 5-6 minutes on each side.  (If the skin is on, do 8-10 minutes on one side and then pop it in the oven at 350 for a few minutes until it’s cooked through.)  How do you know the salmon is cooked perfectly?  It flakes away easily and is one color throughout.  Remove the salmon from the pan and add the leftover marinade.  Lower the heat a bit and let it simmer until it reduces and thickens up.  Then pour the thickened glaze over the top of the salmon.  This gives it the really pretty color.

Just a note, after I glazed the salmon, I remembered having something like this in a restaurant and it was served on a cedar plank and had been grilled.  If you aren’t an urban liver, give that a try!

This could go with tons of different side dishes, but I found three small potatoes, roasted garlic and some pareve sour cream in my fridge.  My husband and I LOVE cheesy Mexican twice baked potatoes, so I thought I’d try making a pareve version (minus the cheese).  The result was a creamy, flavorful, delicious side dish!

Pareve Twice Bake Potatoes
3 small potatoes
1/4 cup pareve sour cream
1 tablespoon margarine
1/4 cup finely chopped red onion
4 cloves roasted garlic
2 pinches cayenne pepper

1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon black pepper

Poke small holes in the potatoes and bake them for about an hour at 400 degrees, or until they are soft enough to squeeze and the skin is a little crispy.

Remove them from the oven and let them cool enough that you can handle them.  Then slice them in half, but be careful not to tear the skin.  Scoop out the insides, leaving a little potato stuck to the skin.  Now, I always mess up some of the skins and I like my twice baked potatoes a bit over stuffed.  I also happen to love eating potato skins.  Because of all of these variables, I use the insides of all three potatoes, but the skins of only two of them, and nosh on the skins of the other potato.

Mash the potato insides with the margarine, sour cream, roasted garlic, onions, cayenne, salt and pepper.  If you don’t like spicy food, substitute paprika for the cayenne.  Once it’s creamy and you don’t see big chunks of potato, load 1/4 of the filling into each of the skins.  Use your hands to shape it into a nice little mound.  Give them a sprinkle of cayenne over the top for color and pop them right back into the 400 degree oven for 15 minutes.  You could also totally add some french fried onions to the top if you have them on hand for extra crunch!

They say brides need something old, something new, something borrowed, something blue.  I think plates need  something protein, something starchy, something green, so add some green beans, broccoli, spinach, or your favorite green veggie and plate up the salmon and potatoes.  You know what the best part about this meal is?  You can have the leftovers with your next meat or dairy meal!  Wahoo!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

