Skip to content

Caesar Salmon & Crisped Asparagus

February 8, 2011

I love Caesar salad.  I just love it!  Show me any Italian restaurant menu and my eyes are immediately drawn to this one item.  So when I was playing with salad dressing a couple weeks ago and made something that tasted remarkably like Caesar but without the anchovy paste and with way less cheese, I knew I’d be making it again.  When I found myself craving salmon, I figured there was no time like the present to give my new recipe a go!  I paired it with some yummy roasted asparagus that I topped with crushed garlic parmesan panetinis and it was a perfectly light and delicious meal.

Salmon Ingredients
.75 lb. salmon

3 tablespoons worcestershire sauce
3 tablespoons olive oil
1 tablespoon red wine vinegar
1 large clove garlic, finely chopped
2 tablespoons parmesan cheese
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon pepper

Combine the worcestshire sauce, oil, vinegar, garlic, cheese, salt and pepper and whisk or shake well.  Pour over salmon.  Allow it to marinade for 15 minutes (you can get the asparagus going while it marinades).

Bake the salmon at 375 degrees for about 35 minutes or until it the pieces easily flake apart.

Asparagus Ingredients
1 lb. asparagus, washed and trimmed
3 tablespoons olive oil
1/2 cup crushed panetinis (or your favorite bread crumbs)

This is just about as easy as it gets.  Pour the oil over the asparagus and roll it around so everybody’s coated.  Then, sprinkle the panetini crumbs on.  Roast the asparagus for 45 minutes at 375 degrees.

What is a panetini you ask?  This delicious treat that they sell at Costco (and potentially other places).  They’re like giant croutons that are awesome for appetizers, soup croutons, and pre-flavored bread crumbs!

Anyway, that’s enough PSA about the panetinis.  I used the extra “caesar” dressing over some lettuce (and broken up panetinis, of course) to make a salad while the fish and asparagus were cooking…hey, when you’re hungry, you’re hungry!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

