Skip to content

Pumpkin, Pecan, White Chocolate Chunk OMG amazing Waffles

November 25, 2010

Happy Thanksgiving!

Since my husband (finally) has the day off of work, I figured I’d move up Sunday’s fancy breakfast to Thursday while we watched the parade.  After my bake-a-thon yesterday, I had some pumpkin left over from making my friend’s AMAZING pumpkin chocolate chunk squares.  Since it is, of course, Thanksgiving, I used up that leftover pumpkin and made these out-of-this world pumpkin white chocolate chip waffles.  Note:  If you don’t have a waffle iron, K-Mart, Sears, Lowes, Macy’s, Target, and Wal-mart all have HUGE Black Friday sales on them.  Get one.  Stat.  Then make this recipe.  And this one.

Now, usually I’m all about the super easy Bisquick waffles.  After I looked at a few pumpkin waffle recipes, I knew I needed to go big or go home (except I was home…and in my pajamas…)  The parade was on so I just watched and whipped!  Boy was it worth it!  These seriously were OMG amazing!

This recipe is based on this amazing recipe from a blog devoted entirely to pumpkin waffles!  I adjusted a bit because of what I had on hand, because I wanted to add the white chocolate, and knowing that my husband is picky about spices, but the instructions below are straight from that blog.

Ingredients
1 1/4 cup + 3 Tbsp all-purpose flour
1/4 cup brown sugar
1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
1 3/4 tsp. cinnamon
Pinch of nutmeg
2 large eggs
1 cup milk
1 cup canned pumpkin
4 Tbsp. melted butter/margarine
½ cup white chocolate chunks (I got mine from Whole Foods…what a find!)
½ cup pecans, coarsely chopped

Combine brown sugar and 3 tablespoons flour in a large bowl. Whisk together to break apart the flour. Add the remaining dry ingredients, and whisk to blend.

Separate eggs: yolks go in a medium sized bowl and whites get set aside in a smaller bowl.  Add pumpkin and milk to the egg yolks. Whisk to blend and set aside.

Whip egg whites with a hand mixer on high until stiff peaks form – about 1 1/2 – 2 minutes. Set aside.

Pour melted butter into the yolk/milk/pumpkin mixture. As you pour, whisk to combine.

Add the pumpkin mixture to the dry ingredients, and mix them together until just combined. A little lumpiness is fine. That will smooth out when the egg whites are added.  Slide the whipped egg whites out of the bowl and onto the mixture you just prepared.  Gently fold them in until no white bits are obvious.  Gently fold in the white chocolate chunks and pecans.

This is a really thick batter, so it won’t spread much once you put it in the waffle iron.  Spray the waffle iron lightly with oil spray.  Pour about a quarter of the batter onto the waffle iron and use a spatula to spread it evenly.  Allow it to cook until the ready light comes on.  (Every waffle iron is a bit different.  I like my Bella Cucina because I can flip it and make sure it gets cooked evenly on both sides.)

We enjoyed these decadent waffles with a tiny drizzle of maple syrup just to add some extra moisture, but the sweetness wasn’t necessary.  The pecans add crunch and the white chocolate chunks are like little pockets of creaminess in the waffle.  I’m not a milk drinker, but I had mine with a glass of cold milk and the match was perfect.

As a side note, we had breakfast while watching the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade.  As I watched the marching bands going down the parade, I thought back to my high school days and remembered when our string orchestra first tried marching in the Homecoming parade.  Since I played cello, I was on the flatbed of the truck, which gave me the best view of the violinists and violas stumbling down the road.  What a great memory!

Enjoy your family time and delicious meals.  Have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

