Skip to content

Oven Meatballs with Everything Flavors!

November 10, 2010

I really hate making red meat.  It just grosses me out.  So much so that the first couple times that I made it, I didn’t even touch it (I’m very talented with a spatula…and I love my tongs.)  When I decided to make meatballs, I knew they had to be out of this world to warrant the massive amount of hand-meat contact which I knew would ensue.  When I saw this recipe from the Bertolli website, I figured I’d give it a try.  I make some changes because of the ingredients I have on hand, but every time I put it on my Shabbat table, the bowl is empty by the end of the meal!

I call them meatballs with everything flavors because there are so many different flavors inside them, it’s impossible to describe what’s there.  After a taste, everyone always asks me, “what is IN these that is so good???”  They’re easy to make (touching aside) and always a hit.

Meatball Ingredients
1 lb. ground beef
1 small onion finely chopped
– I use bigger pieces because I like when you can see them in the meatballs.
1/4 cup Italian breadcrumbs
1 1/2 tablespoons dried parsley
6 sprigs fresh cilantro, chopped
1 egg lightly beaten
2 teaspoon ground cumin
1 teaspoon paprika
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon pepper
Pinch crushed red pepper flakes

Mash all of these ingredients together in a large bowl (I use a spoon…I can’t handle the squishing sounds…also the reason I refuse to post a picture of the raw meat.)

Shape the raw meat into 1 inch balls and arrange on a greased cookie sheet.  Bake at 400 degrees for 15 minutes until golden brown.

Sauce Ingredients
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 small onion, finely chopped
3 cloves garlic, finely chopped
1 tablespoon ground ginger
1 teaspoon turmeric
Juice of 2 limes (about 3 tablespoons)
1 jar tomato sauce (I use roasted garlic flavored)

Saute onion in the olive oil until they’re tender and translucent. Add garlic, ginger, and turmeric and cook for one minute.  Stir in lime juice and tomato sauce.  Reduce heat and simmer for 10 minutes.  Then, add the meatballs and toss them in the sauce.  Simmer, covered, for ten more minutes.

I serve them on their own, but they could totally be served with rice, pasta, couscous or any other grain.  I’m not a red-meat eater, but the fact that we never have leftovers is a definite sign that these are delicious!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

