Skip to content

Apple Jam from the Bread Machine!

October 26, 2010

I’m still going through all of those apples we brought home from apple picking.  I was flipping through the guide book that came with my bread machine and saw that I can make jam in it!  How awesome!  Well, that was certainly an experiment that I wanted to take on.

A lot of jam recipes call for pectin to thicken them.  I didn’t have any and I’m not sure how easy it is to find kosher pectin (though I didn’t really try) so I tried making it without.

Also, this recipe makes 1/2 a mason jar.  If you want a full jar, just double the recipe!

Ingredients:
2 cups sweet apples, peeled and chopped (small size on the Vidalia Chop Wizard)
3/4 cup sugar
1 teaspoon cinnamon
Juice of half a lime
(I was overzealous and mine came out a bit acidic…do as I say, not as I do!)

Put all ingredients into bread machine bucket.  Set bread machine to “Basic” and press start.  Allow it to mix for 5-6 minutes, using a spatula to scrape the sides as it mixes.  (This is the only work you have to do…no complaining!)  After 5-6 minutes, press the stop button.  Lots of juices will have released from the apples and the sugar will have started to absorb.

Set bread machine to “Bake” and press start.  The apples will bake for an hour.  Resist the temptation to open the top and peek in.  (My bread machine has a window on top, so I didn’t have to worry about it!)  If you open the top, the temperature changes…bad idea.

When the bake cycle is done, remove the bucket immediately and allow to cool completely (about half an hour).  Spoon into a mason jar and refrigerate until you’re ready to spread it on biscuits and peanut butter sandwiches! Majorly yum.  It’s especially good on a whole grain bagel with some cream cheese.  (Cream cheese and jam are SUCH a good combo!)


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

