Skip to content

White Pizza with Rainbow Chard & Roasted Garlic

October 23, 2010

Ok, people, I heard you loud and clear.  The last time I posted about pizza I got double the hits of any other post, so here I am, back with pizza!  I don’t really like red sauce on my pizza, and if it’s there it needs to be minimal.  Since I was a kid, I’ve loved white pizza, not the kind that’s just bread and cheese, but the kind that has a creamy white sauce, veggies and cheese!

Usually I make my own pizza dough, but Trader Joe’s came to my neighborhood recently so I figured I’d try out the 99-cent pizza dough everyone’s been telling me about.  What a find!  For a dollar, I cut out so much effort!  They had three kinds: white, wheat and garlic and herb.  I bought one of each.  For this recipe, I used the nutty whole wheat pizza dough.

A note about roasted garlic…
If you’ve never roasted garlic, it’s super easy.  Take a head of garlic and chop the top off.  Drizzle in a little olive oil.  Wrap in foil.  Bake at 425 degrees for about 45 minutes until the garlic is soft and sweet.  To remove the cloves, poke a fork or knife in and each clove will slide out easily.  It’s amazing as a spread on toast, incorporated into sauces, spread on meat, or just about anything!

Photo from ECurry

White Sauce Ingredients
1 cup skim milk
1 tablespoon butter
1 tablespoon cream cheese
1 teaspoon flour
1 tablespoon parmesan cheese
2 cloves roasted garlic
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper

Melt butter in a frying pan.  Add flour and mix or whisk until it is a paste.  Add cream cheese and mix together.  Add milk and whisk until paste is completely dissolved.  Mash in garlic.  Add parmesan, salt and pepper.  Allow to simmer until the sauce has thickened.  Give it a taste and add more parm, salt or pepper to your taste!  (This could also be an excellent pasta sauce!)

Pizza Ingredients
1 pizza dough
1 serving white sauce (recipe above)
6 leaves rainbow chard (or your favorite leafy green)
6 cloves roasted garlic
6-8 oz. Pizza cheese mixture

Heat oven to 425 degrees and insert pizza stone.

Remember the rainbow chard leaves I set aside after I used the stems for my tabouli?  Now’s the time to put them to good use.  On each of the 6 leaves of chard you’ll use for this pizza, spread one clove of the roasted garlic (preferably while still warm).  Roll the leaves together and slice in 1/2 inch strips.  Give all of it a rough chop.

Roll out pizza crust.  Remove pizza stone from oven (it’s hot…watch out!)  Spread cornmeal on the stone (so the crust won’t stick) then put pizza crust on it.  Pour white sauce over crust (leave an edge for the crust.  Add roasted garlicy chard leaves.

Top with tons of your favorite cheese (I used Miller’s Italian Pizza mixture).  Give the whole thing a quick drizzle with a little olive oil so it will brown up and put it back in the oven.

When I asked my sister a long time ago how long I should leave my pizza in the oven, she said “until it’s done,” so keep an eye on the pizza.  When the cheese is bubbly and brown and the crust is crispy, it’s ready (about half an hour).

Slice it up and enjoy.  The nutty whole wheat crust, sweet garlic, colorful greens and creamy cheese are totally delish!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Beverly permalink
    October 31, 2010 11:58 am

    This was the most fabulous pizza I have ever had!! Incredible!!

Leave a Reply

