Skip to content

Mexican Grilled Chicken & Quick Guacamole

October 17, 2010

When I’m feeling uninspired and I know my husband’s wanting some meat, I generally through some spices together and go for a simple spice rub.  Spice rubs are quick, easy, and impart tons of flavor!  Also, I don’t need extra ingredients because I always have my trusty spice rack to turn to!  Also, when in doubt, I go for Mexican (as I’ve told you before).  For Shabbat this week I made a quick mexican spice rub and grilled up some chicken breasts.  With a side of creamy guacamole and some tortilla chips and a nice salad, it was  light and easy dinner!  The way my husband’s eyes got really wide…I knew it was a hit!

Ingredients
2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
1/4 teaspoon cumin
1/4 teaspoon onion powder
1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
1/8 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon pepper
2 pinches chipotle chili powder (be careful with this one people…remember when I over did it?)
Squeeze of lime
1 tablespoon chopped cilantro for garnish

In a small bowl, combine the spices.  Give it a sniff…mmm mm!

Rub generous amounts of the spice combination on each piece of chicken…don’t miss a spot!  This will dry out the outside of the chicken and get it ready for the grill pan.  Once it’s covered on each side, give each side a little squeeze of lime and it’s ready to go onto the grill pan.

Looks a little gross, but wait until you taste it when it's cooked!

 

Place on grill pan for 5 minutes on each side.  (If you want nice grill lines, don’t peek!)  Remove from the pan immediately and let it rest before you cut into it so all of the juices will stay in.

Garnish with a little chopped cilantro.  Serve it up with some crunchy tortilla chips and my quick and easy guacamole!

I won’t lie…sometimes I make guacamole just so I can use my amazing guacamole serving dish, but I don’t always feel like going through the motions, here’s what I do…

When I don’t feel like chopping onions, tomatoes, jalapenos and playing with seasonings, but I still want some yummy and creamy guacamole, here’s what I do…Combine 1 tablespoon salsa (fresh or store bought) for each avocado.  Mash them together and add a squeeze of lime to keep it fresh.  That’s it!  This creamy treat goes perfectly with the super spiced chicken and chips.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

