Skip to content

Autumn Grilled Cheese

October 14, 2010

At my bridal shower, we played, “who knows the bride best.”  When it came to the “favorite food” question, everyone got it right: cheese.  I just love it!  After apple picking last weekend, I was flipping through my “Old-Fashioned Apple Recipes” cookbook and noticed the cheesy apple soup recipe.  That certainly seemed like an odd combination!  Well I wasn’t in soup mode, but I figured I’d give the combo a try as a sandwich (less committal than a full pot of soup).

Well, it was a roaring success, and widely accepted by my cheese-toast loving husband!  The nuttiness of the whole wheat bread, the sweetness of the apples, saltiness of the cheese and big flavor of the onions are such a lovely combination!  It’s also excellent comfort food in light of the icky, rainy weather we’ve been having.

I need a moment to rant before presenting you with this deliciously easy recipe.  Grilled cheese is made in a frying pan and is coated in butter.  It is a two slice of bread situation.  When made open face and in the toaster or oven, this delicious treat is called CHEESE TOAST.  My husband and I go back and forth about this all the time, but I think I’ve finally won, so I figured I’d clarify it for all of you.

And now on to our regularly scheduled blog post…

Ingredients:
8 slices of bread (I used fresh whole wheat from my bread machine)
2 apples, peeled & sliced (Choose your favorites!  Nothing too sweet or sour)
1 small onion, thinly sliced
1 1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese
Pinch nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons butter or margarine

Melt 1 tablespoon butter in a frying pan.

Sautee onion and apples until golden.  Add nutmeg and salt.

In a bowl, mix the cheddar cheese with the cooled onions and apples.

Spread remaining butter/margarine on one side of each slice of bread.

Place one slice of bread buttered side down a hot frying pan.  Put a heap of the apple/onion/cheese filling onto the bread and topped with another slice, butter side out.  Allow cheese to melt and bread to crisp and carefully flip the sandwich.  Allow bread to crisp on other side and remove immediately from pan.

Slice and serve with your favorite salad!

My fresh bread was really difficult to slice (I tried the 58 minute bread setting – delicious bread, not easy to slice.)  I got annoyed and decided to make the rest as autumn cheese toast.  Turns out they were extra yummy because without all of the bread we could taste the flavors even more!

So there, never judge a book by its cover, and never judge a recipe because the ingredients sound like a weird combination.  Try this yummy sandwich soon while the apples are still amazing.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

