Skip to content

Chickpeas with Tomatoes & Zucchini

October 2, 2010

As I’ve mentioned before, I’m not such a big meat eater, so I’m always on the lookout for protein alternatives.  When I came across this recipe in Richard Sax and Marie Simmons’ cookbook, Lighter, Quicker, Better, I knew it would make it to my table!

The dish looks like Indian food, but tastes completely Italian. I love the smell of the oregano and it certainly made me think of pasta sauce!  This dish would be great over pasta, but I served it on its own as a side dish for eight people.  It could also easily be poured over fish or chicken to add extra flavor!  I served this as a side dish for eight people.

Ingredients
1 1/2 cup diced onion (I used the bigger size on my Vidalia Chop Wizard)
1 rib celery, diced (same technique)
1 garlic clove, chopped
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 tablespoon water
1 can (19 oz) chickpeas, rinsed and drained
8 oz canned diced tomatoes, with juices
2 tablespoons dried parsley
1 tablespoon tomato paste
1 teaspoon dried oregano
2 small zucchinis, diced (Vidalia Chop Wizard again!)

Combine onion, garlic, celery, olive oil, and water in a large non-stick skillet.  Cook, stirring occasionally, over medium heat until the onions are tender, about 10 minutes.

Add the chick peas, tomatoes, parsley, tomato paste, oregano, and salt and pepper to taste.  Cook, covered for 10 minutes.

Stir in the zucchini and cook until tender, about 10 minutes.

Serve hot, warm, or chilled.

Healthy and easy, this is the perfect weeknight dinner or side dish, or even a light lunch!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 3, 2010 11:12 pm

    This looks great! It would be awesome over some couscous or even tossed with a bit of whole wheat pasta. Yum!

  2. Julie Blackstock permalink
    October 12, 2010 2:14 pm

    I am totally going to try this one. Never had chickpeas, Jen. What are they like?
    I am also totally going to get those onion choppers for myself, Joya, and my parents! Great idea!

  3. October 12, 2010 2:31 pm

    You have gotta try them! They’re also called garbonzo beans. (I prefer the Goya brand…also the cheapest usually). Super excellent source of protein, awesome for tossing in salads, couscous, and even soups! I always have a few cans in my pantry.

    Vidalia chop wizard = the best thing ever.

Leave a Reply

