Skip to content

Apples & Honey Cake

September 7, 2010

Tomorrow night begins Rosh HaShanah, the Jewish New Year.  Rosh HaShanah means shofar blowing, shul going, fancy meals and, of course, apples and honey!  We eat this yummy treat to symbolize our hopes for a sweet new year.

For as long as I can remember, my Bubbe has been making honey cake for Rosh HaShanah, and as it turns out, her recipe came from her mother (my great grandmother) and who knows where she got it from.  I LOVE this cake, but it’s really sweet and choc-full of calories, so I figured this year I’d play with it and see what I could get!  I added apples, changed the flour, and replaced the oil (and shifted a few other ingredients…I would NEVER share Bubbe’s exact recipe!).  It came out great…still sweet, but a little more health conscious (just a little).  Also, I was so excited to bake because I finally toveled my KitchenAid!  What a beautiful piece of equipment!

Ingredients
3 apples peeled and chopped (I used pink ladies and chopped them with my Vidalia Chop Wizard!)
1 cup sugar
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp nutmeg (cut this down if you’re sensitive to spices)
1 tsp ground cloves (cut this down if you’re sensitive to spices)
1 1/2 cups honey
1/2 cup applesauce
3 eggs
1/2 cup strong coffee
1/2 cup orange juice
1 shot bourbon
2 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda

Anytime I make an apple cake, I like to “marinate” the apple pieces in half of the sugar and the spices.  Combine the three peeled, chopped apples with 1/2 cup sugar, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, and 1/2 tsp ground cloves.  Mix them together and let them sit while you do the rest of the steps.

Mix honey and applesauce.  One by one, blend in eggs, coffee, orange juice and whiskey.  Then slowly incorporate the dry ingredients (flour, baking powder, baking soda, 1/2 cup sugar, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, and 1/2 tsp ground cloves.  Mix in the apple pieces with the syrup that has formed in the bottom of the bowl.

Pour into three loaf pans.  (I took out some of the batter to make four muffins so I wouldn’t have to cut into the loaves in order to taste test!)

Bake at 350 degrees for 35 minutes or until a knife comes out clean.

Wishing all of you a sweet year filled with love, laughter, health and joy.  Shana Tova!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

