Skip to content

Greek Chicken Pasta – Loving Leftovers!

September 2, 2010

Recently I went to put my leftovers in the freezer and realized that there was LITERALLY no space!  I’ve been doing so much cooking and freezing that I haven’t been USING what I’ve been freezing!  This week I decided to start eating through what is in the freezer.  To be fair, chicken breast really dries out when you reheat it and my husband will eat it, but reluctantly.  I’ve been playing with salads and pastas which involved finely chopped chicken this week.  When my husband tried this dish, he said, “I hope you’re gonna blog about this!”  So, here it is!

During my major pesto phase, I made everything from pizza to burgers with pesto.  I also shmeared pesto on some chicken breasts and cooked them up quickly on my grill pan.  Easy as that.  They were a big hit, but, because I always overcook, I ended up with a few in the freezer.  That’s it for the chicken recipe.  Shmear pesto.  Grill.  (Let’s pause for a moment and recall that I tried planting the basil and killed it.  Twice.  Well, third time’s the charm, because check out my basil plant!  Turns out my Manhattan window can be quite the greenhouse.)

Ingredients
2 Pesto Chicken Breasts
1/2 Box Whole Wheat Penne
1/2 Can Black Olives
10-12 Grape Tomatoes, halved
3 cloves garlic, grated or pressed
Salt to taste
1 tsp chopped fresh basil

I knew the chicken would need some added moisture.  I boiled half a box of whole wheat penne.  While it was boiling I sauteed three grated cloves of garlic in 3 tablespoons of olive oil.  Once it browned I added in 10 halved grape tomatoes and half a can of black olives.  I shredded up the pesto chicken and tossed it all together.  Topped it off with some of my window-grown fresh basil and it was done!  Seriously.  It doesn’t get much easier.

P.s.  I know that many of you (the ones who follow my dietary dislikes) will notice that 2 of my four least favorite vegetables are involved in this dish.  Don’t get too excited.  I just made it for my husband and I dined on cereal…doesn’t matter how much cooking I do, cereal will always be a go-to option!

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 13, 2010 10:34 am

    This would be great for dinner, tonight.

Leave a Reply

