Skip to content

Perfect Pareve Chocolate Cake

August 24, 2010

I have a deep dislike for nearly every pareve cake and cookie from bakeries.  I just cannot, for the life of me, understand why they need to be so dry and tasteless!  When I started playing with this chocolate cake recipe a few years ago, the moistness and layered flavors really caught my attention and it quickly became my go-to shabbat dessert!  (Stay tuned at the end of this post for what to do with the leftovers!)

I promise you this will be the BEST chocolate cake, pareve or dairy, that you’ve ever had!

Ingredients
2 cups sugar
1 cup oil
2 eggs
1 cup soy milk
1 cup hot coffee
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
3/4 cup cocoa powder
2 cups flour
1 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons baking powder
2 teaspoons baking soda
1/2 cup apple sauce

Combine all of the ingredients in order until it looks like something out of Willy Wonka.  It should be a really liquidy mixture.

Pour into a 9×13 pan or an 11″ round springform pan.

Bake at 325 degrees for an hour, or until you can stick a knife in the center and it comes out clean.

Sprinkle powdered sugar over the top for serving.  Consider serving with berries since the cake is rich!

If you go out for a lot of Shabbat meals, or you constantly find yourself wondering where to put your cakes, I can’t recommend my cake carriers enough!  I love them!  (I have a round and a rectangle.)

The problem with serving cake is that, no matter how good it is, there is always a lot left over!  Well, when life gives you leftover cake, make cake balls!

I’ll be honest, these are ten times yummier and easier when made dairy.  You can use boxed cake and packaged icing, and there is just no comparison between the way pareve chocolate melts and the way dairy chocolate melts.  But, pareve desserts are certainly more versatile!

For about a third of an 11″ round cake, you’ll need 1 cup of icing.  Since I had about 2/3 of my cake left, I made two different flavors of icing: peanut butter and coffee flavored.  (My basic icing is 3 cups powdered sugar to one cup margarine, add 1 teaspoon vanilla extract and a teaspoon of soy milk.  I alter it though to make sure it’s the right texture.)  To make the flavorings, I added instant coffee to the coffee icing and 2 tablespoons of creamy peanut butter for the peanut butter icing.

Smosh the cake and icing together so that it forms a sort of paste.  Refrigerate for an hour so that the batter will be easier to mold.

Roll the mixture into 1 inch round balls.  Freeze the batter balls on parchment paper lined cookie sheets until solid.  Melt 1 cup chocolate for 15-20 cake balls.  Dip each ball into the melted chocolate and refreeze.  They can stay in the freezer for 3 months!

**Tip:  I only had regular chocolate on hand, but nothing is prettier then cake balls made in white chocolate and rolled in your favorite nuts!  When made with regular chocolate and without nuts, they don’t look so delicious, but they certainly taste good.  In fact, after my husband ate the chocolate peanut butter cake ball he said, “I’m about to give you the best compliment I’ve ever given you about your baking…this tastes like Chubby Hubby ice cream!”

Enjoy!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Lynn Abrams permalink
    August 29, 2010 11:06 am

    Jen,
    You know I am not a big fan of chocolate cake but this reallly does sound delicious. You made me think about the first (and only) time I made cake balls…your bridal shower! They were so yummy.
    Love you,
    Mom

  2. Tziporah permalink
    November 27, 2011 11:20 pm

    This cake was awesome!!!!!!!!
    I made it for my dads birthday and he luved it. It’s perfect after a fleshig meal!!!!!

  3. Leah Shaindel permalink
    February 13, 2013 6:42 pm

    This cake is delicious- I make it all the time. I started using coconut oil instead of reg. oil and it comes out even more moist!

  4. Sharon permalink
    July 3, 2013 2:48 am

    Hi! I’m so excited to try your cake recipe for a 4th of July BBQ as chocolate muffins, but we do not drink or like the taste of coffee, so what can I substitute? Would chocolate or vanilla almond milk be ok instead? Do I have to heat it up? Or a parve vanilla pudding mix? Or more applesauce to keep it moist? Or should i melt some dark choc chips? Look forward to hearing your thoughts about my suggestions so can make it in the morning 🙂 Thanks sooo much, I appreciate it!!

    • July 3, 2013 7:50 am

      You don’t really taste the coffee, it just enhances the chocolate flavor, but you could prob use any liquid substitute. Good luck and enjoy!

  5. matt permalink
    August 2, 2013 11:51 am

    can you taste the apple sauce because i want to make this but i dont want it to taste like apples

    • August 2, 2013 12:08 pm

      Definitely can’t taste the applesauce. All you taste is chocolate!

  6. Samantha permalink
    August 12, 2013 5:32 pm

    I made this chocolate cake for shabbos and it came out so delicious and moist! Everyone loved it! Definitely making it again! Thanks so much!

  7. Suzanne Lion permalink
    January 31, 2014 4:42 pm

    Thank you. It was really lovely and looked most impressive. I didn’t have applesauce so I stewed some apples and it worked fantastically. Only way I could get my son to eat fruit!

  8. Avi permalink
    February 10, 2015 5:06 am

    How many servings can I expect from this cake?

Leave a Reply

