Skip to content

Pesto Turkey Burgers with Ramen Slaw

August 5, 2010

I’ve sort of been on a burger kick.  When I realized I still had some pesto in the fridge, I figured I’d do an experiment and make pesto burgers.  (These moments are the reason I store my pesto without the parmesan cheese in it.  I keep it pareve until the last minute so that I can use it in dairy or meat dishes!)  I wanted to make the burgers healthier, so I went with ground turkey which has a lot less fat than red meat (and also has a lower “gross” factor to me).  These burgers could not possibly be more flavorful and though the pesto makes them look a bit Shrek-ish, they were a big hit in our house!  I served them up with my friend’s recipe for super yummy Ramen Slaw.  This is a really easy weeknight meal or an awesome picnic meal!

Ingredients (makes 5 burgers)
1 lb. ground turkey
1/2 cup
pesto
1 egg
1/2 cup italian seasoned breadcrumbs

Mix the ingredients together (with a spoon if you’re me, or with your hands if you’re braver than me).  Form the meat into five even patties.  Place on a hot grill pan for 4-5 minutes on each side.

Serve on a bun with lettuce and onion.  Consider serving it with marinara instead of ketchup!  Make a double batch for fun meatballs for your next spaghetti & meatballs night!

And now, for the yummiest fresh summer side dish!

Sarit’s Ramen Slaw Ingredients
1 lb shredded cabbage (sometimes I add an extra little bag of red cabbage for more color)
6 green onions, chopped
2 packages ramen oriental soup mix, broken into bite size pieces; reserve flavor packet for dressing
4-5 tbsp sesame seeds, toasted
3/4 cup slivered almonds, toasted

Dressing–combine and shake well:
4-5 tbsp cider vinegar
3/4 cup oil (olive, canola or salad)
3 tbsp sugar
1/2 tsp black pepper
1/2 tsp salt
10-12 drops oriental sesame oil
2 flavor packets from soup mix

Just before serving, combine all salad ingredients. Pour on dressing. (Don’t mix too early–gets soggy.)  This stuff is so good that I could literally eat the whole bowl in one sitting!  It’s a fresh side dish for summer nights or picnics!  Also, I hate mayo so this is a wonderful slaw for me!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

