Skip to content

Steak & Scape Stir Fry

August 2, 2010

Ever since my friend told me about garlic scapes, I’ve been watching in the farmer’s market to find them.  This week, they were there!  Garlic scapes have a green bean texture with a light garlicy flavor, so it’s not like biting into a garlic clove.

I did a bit of research to find out all the ways to use them.  There are pesto recipes (but I certainly didn’t need to make more pesto), pasta recipes and sauteed versions.  Garlic scapes seem to be especially prominent in asian foods, so I decided to go that route.

It’s a rare occasion that I make red meat, but in honor of my husband’s first day at his new job, I figured I’d go for it and pick up some pepper steak strips on my way home.  These are great because I don’t have to touch them (thank you tongs!)  I cut them into smaller pieces and was on my merry way to making this succulent steak and scape stir fry.

Marinade Ingredients
6 tablespoons low sodium soy sauce
4 tablespoons cider vinegar
3 tablespoons sesame oil
2 tablespoons sugar

1 tablespoon garlic powder
1 tablespoon ginger powder

Ingredients
1/2 pound thin strips of pepper steak
1 red bell pepper, sliced
1 yellow bell pepper, sliced
1 medium white onion, sliced
5 garlic scapes, cut into 3 inch sections

Combine marinade ingredients.  Marinade steak in a plastic bag for 15-30 minutes.  (In the mean time, slice up the veggies.)

Sautee the marinaded steak pieces for 3 minutes on each side.  Remove from pan but leave the marinade.

Add garlic scapes first and sautee for 5 minutes alone.  Then add the rest of the veggies and sautee until soft.

Toss veggies and steak and serve.

It’s a rich and flavorful meal that comes together super quickly!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

