Skip to content

Nine Days of Dairy – Recipe 9 – Mango Chipotle Glazed Salmon with Rainbow Quinoa

July 18, 2010

This is the last of the Nine Days of Dairy series…from now on posts will be a bit more spread out and, who knows, I might even make some meat!

Sometimes, but rarely, I choose recipes that are a bust.  When I found the mango gazpacho recipe last week, I was so excited to make it for Shabbat.  I followed the recipe exactly (first mistake…I hardly ever do that) and it came out tasting like what my husband called “hot duck sauce.”  Gross.  It was SUPER spicy and needed much more sweetness.  The next day it was better, but still needed more.  I pureed a kirby cucumber and added in honey and it was at least edible, but there was still a serious kick to it.  I served it in shot glasses and my Shabbat guests were kind enough to try it, but I wasn’t a fan.

So, what was I to do with this enormous amount of gazpacho that I knew we wouldn’t eat?  Glaze some fish of course!  (At this point, you’re for sure thinking that all I make is fish with something mango…but fish is necessary protein during the 9 days and mangos are just so sweet and flavorful right now!) Reconstituting this leftover yielded a much more satisfying and palette friendly flavor.  The only ingredient I had to buy fresh for this meal was the salmon because the rest was all leftover from Shabbat!    (If you made Recipe 6, then you have the veggies that you need to make the quinoa!)  Before a fast, it is recommended to have a balanced meal of protein and carbohydrates.  With the sweet taste of the fish and no salt on the quinoa, it will help prepare your body for the Tisha B’Av fast.  Have some watermelon for dessert to hydrate yourself!

Mango Chipotle Glaze
1 mango
Juice from 1/2 lime
1/4 teaspoon ginger
1/2 kirby cucumber
1 tablespoon honey
1/2 teaspoon chipotle
1/2 cup vegetable stock

Puree all of these together in a food processor or blender.  (This is adjusted from the original gazpacho recipe so you won’t have a vat like I had!)

Marinade 2 cleaned salmon fillets in the glaze for 1-2 hours.

Use a grill pan (or frying pan) to brown up the salmon fillets for about 5 minutes on each side.  If they’re thick fillets, bake them at 375 for an extra 10 minutes.  They can be served up cold, room temperature, or hot.

I served the salmon aside the leftover “rainbow quinoa” from Shabbat.  When I was chopping the veggies for the succotash, I set aside the zucchini, summer squash, red onion, red bell pepper mixture.  I added in some sweet potato and garlic and sauteed them together until the veggies were soft.  I added the mixture to a cup of quinoa.  While I was making it I realized that five out of seven of ROYGBIV (the colors of the rainbow) were in the quinoa, hence the name.

It was an easy, healthy, colorful, and delicious meal!  I just love using leftovers.

Wishing you all a meaningful Tisha B’Av.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

