Skip to content

A Brief Interlude – Barbie Cake

July 16, 2010

I think it would be offensive to offer you a recipe for a boxed cake mix (which, by the way, I hadn’t used in years) and store bought icing, but I had to share this exciting creation.

Earlier this week, my best friend’s mom called me to ask where in New York she could buy a barbie cake for her daughter.  (Apparently as a child she always wanted one nad her mom decided her 22nd birthday was the perfect time to bestow upon her with this beautiful cake.)  Knowing very little about New York bakeries, I really had no answers for her… So I looked online for “how to make a barbie cake” and got the idea in my head to make the cake myself.  So I schlepped myself over to K-Mart, bought the cheapest Barbie they had (um, these things have really gotten expensive!!) and set out on my Barbie cake mission.

I baked 2 boxes of funfetti cake mix in a pyrex bowl.  It took forever to bake (something in the 2 hour range) and luckily my sweet husband stayed awake last night to take it out of the oven because my allergies turned sinus infection and shortly after the cake went into the oven, my fever escalated.

This afternoon, I mustered up all of my energy, washed my hands a million times and wore a bandanna around my face so I could decorate the cake without infecting it.  (I’m a really devoted friend).

I bought strawberry icing because I just didn’t have the strength to start dying frosting (but I usually would!)  I frosted up the cake and then, the sad thing happened.  Barbie just wouldn’t fit!  So I was forced to amputate.

Once I had Barbie secured in the cake, I frosted on the bodice of her dress and went to town decorating.  There have been many cakes that I have decorated in more detail and with more success…I blame the fever.

Either way,  Barbie came out great and Jessica was shocked and thrilled!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. suzette permalink
    July 17, 2010 3:20 am

    you surpassed all my expectations! Great job, she loved it. Thanks for creating, even when you are under the weather.

  2. Lynn permalink
    August 1, 2010 10:30 pm

    I just had to laugh at the amputated legs! The cake is so cute!

Leave a Reply

