Skip to content

Nine Days of Dairy – Recipe 6 – Succotash Pasta Salad

July 15, 2010

I know, two posts in one night is just crazy! But I figured you’re already getting your shabbat cooking done, so…

Here it comes folks…the perfect seudah shlishit recipe!  It’s actually 2 recipes in one post – succotash or succotash pasta salad!  Also, for all of you West Siders, you can hit up the 97th street farmer’s market for the produce from 7am-1pm Friday!

I told you before that I’m all about reconstituted leftovers. Last Shabbat I made succotash. Succotash is a summer stew of sorts which I love as a salad. It’s usually corn-based and sometimes has beans in it. When I made it for Shabbat, I just chopped up all of the veggies I had in my fridge (corn, zucchini, yellow squash, carrots, celery, red onion and red bell pepper) super small. This process was made MUCH easier by one of my favorite kitchen gadgets, the Vidalia Chop Wizard.

Available at Bed Bath and Beyond, this excellent invention comes with two size choppers so you can have big pieces or the tiny pieces I had.

I kept all the veggies raw, added a teaspoon of red wine vinegar, a teaspoon of olive oil and about 10 leaves of chopped, fresh basil. It was refreshing and a lovely summer side dish that highlighted all the yummy in season vegetables. (I also put some aside for the quinoa that I’ll post Sunday night so you can prepare it for Monday’s pre-fast meal.)

Since I had a bunch of this leftover in the fridge, I just cooked up some tricolored veggie pasta, tossed in the succotash and added some crumbled feta, cannelini beans (for protein), and extra basil, a bit of olive oil and garlic salt.

The veggies are sweet, the feta salty, the beans creamy and it’s a quick main dish for seudah shlishit, great for a picnic, or an easy side dish for during the week!

Leave a Reply

