Skip to content

Nine Days of Dairy – Recipe 5 – Circlesagne (Lasagne Pie)

July 15, 2010

My husband LOVES lasagne.  Seriously, it’s a love affair.  It’s tasty, but I can’t have it so often and when you make a big 9×13 pan you have so much leftover that you either over eat or have to fill the freezer!  I also really get annoyed with the whole layering process.

So, when he wanted lasagne this week, I drew upon my memories of spaghetti pie, minimized the amount of cheese (smaller pan, less cheese, less calories!) and created a “circlesagne.”  This is, no doubt, the easiest thing ever.

I cooked the whole wheat lasagne noodles until they were soft (not al dente because i didn’t want them to break when i was wiggling them…yes, I wiggle pasta.)

While it was cooking, I combined one cup of jarred marinara (yea, I’m just not making that from scratch!), 1/2 cup fat free ricotta, 1 egg, 1 tablespoon garlic powder, 2 tablespoons of pesto (still jarred up in the fridge!), 1/4 cup shredded mozzarella and 10 chopped leaves of fresh basil.

Then, I dumped the lasagne noodles into the cheesy saucy mixture, mixed them around and put them in a pie pan!  I sorta twirled them to get it to fit easily.  I sprinkled the top with half a cup of shredded mozzarella and gave up!  I baked it at 375 for half an hour then broiled it for 2 minutes to brown up the top.

Easy, cheesy!  This would be just as delish with any other shape of pasta and fulfills your need for cheese during these nine days of dairy.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

