Skip to content

Nine Days of Dairy – Recipe 1 – Corn Waffles with Black Bean Salsa

July 11, 2010

Tonight the Jewish world enters what is known as “the nine days.”

A three week period of low-level mourning leads up to the holiday of Tisha B’Av; the three weeks commemorate the final siege of Jerusalem that led to the Second Temple’s destruction in 70 C.E. During this period it is traditional to refrain from public celebrations, such as weddings, and many traditional men refrain from shaving, reflecting their practice during personal mourning periods. The last nine days of these three weeks culminating in Tisha B’Av  are an even deeper period of mourning, during which traditional Jews avoid eating meat; some who did not previously take on certain aspects of mourning, such as refraining from shaving, will assume these signs of mourning during these nine days.  (Thanks MyJewishLearning.com for that excellent summary!)

Ok, now that I got my Jewish educator shpiel out of the way…

I figured this would be the PERFECT time to finally start that food blog I’ve been talking about for so long!  I’m not new to the blog world…from book reviews, to stories about my dating life, and other random things, I’ve been around the blog block.  But once I wrote that first food entry on Corn waffles with Black Bean salsa, I knew I had to get my feet wet in this food blog world.

The post that started it all...click here for RECIPE 1 for the nine days!

Over the next few days, I’ll post eight other dairy/pareve recipes to help us all be creative with yummy dairy dinners during the nine days.  Feel free to post links to your own dairy recipes…

Let’s get inspired!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. orangeideal permalink
    July 11, 2010 5:22 pm

    Yay!

  2. July 11, 2010 11:46 pm

    Ah, mazel tov! I love the first post. Welcome to the blog world 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Pumpkin, Pecan, White Chocolate Chunk OMG amazing Waffles « Mah Zeh Taim! How Delish!

Leave a Reply

